BNP Paribas Open Player Field Released

big bnp paribas open logo

Indian Wells, Calif., Jan. 23, 2013 – The BNP Paribas Open to be held March 4-17, 2013 at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, will once again feature  men’s and women’s fields highlighted by nine former BNP Paribas Open champions and 13 Grand Slam champions, it was announced today by Steve Simon, tournament director.
The announcement of the 2013 BNP Paribas Open player field kicks off a six week countdown to the beginning of the tournament when more than 300 of the world’s best players will descend on Indian Wells and compete to hoist the prestigious trophies. The fields are led by past champions (years in parentheses below), World No. 1’s, Grand Slam champions and a cadre of other top stars.
On the men’s side, the field is led by World No. 1 Novak Djokovic (2008, 2011), defending champion and World No. 2 Roger Federer (2004-2006, 2012) and World No. 5 Rafael Nadal (2007, 2009), who account for eight of the last nine BNP Paribas Open titles. In addition, World No. 3 and 2012 US Open Champion Andy Murray, World No. 4 David Ferrer, World No. 6 Tomas Berdych, World No. 7 and 2009 US Open Champion Juan Martin Del Potro, World No. 8 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, World No. 9 Janko Tipsarevic and World No. 10 Richard Gasquet headline the draw.
On the women’s side, the headliners include defending champion and World No. 1 Victoria Azarenka (2012), World No. 2 Maria Sharapova (2006), World No. 4 Agnieszka Radwanska, World No. 5 Angelique Kerber, World No. 6 and 2011 French Open Champion Li Na, World No. 7 Sara Errani, World No. 8 and 2011 Wimbledon Champion Petra Kvitova, World No. 9 and 2011 US Open Champion Samantha Stosur, World No. 10 Caroline Wozniacki (2011), Jelena Jankovic (2010), 2008 French Open Champion Ana Ivanovic (2008), Daniela Hantuchova (2002, 2007), 2010 French Open Champion Francesca Schiavone and 2004 US Open Champion and 2009 French Open Champion Svetlana Kuznetsova.
Overall, 33 countries are represented in the men’s draw and 32 are represented in the women’s draw. Americans in the field include 2012 finalist John Isner, Sam Querrey, Mardy Fish, Brian Baker, Ryan Harrison, Varvara Lepchenko, Sloane Stephens, Christina McHale, Jamie Hampton and Vania King.
The remaining spots in the draws will be filled with winners of the Qualifying Tournament (March 4-6) and Wildcards, which will be announced in the coming weeks.
For more information  visit www.bnpparibasopen.com.