Player Field Announced for Bank of the West Classic


(June 11, 2013) Stanford, California- The official player field for the Bank of the West Classic has been announced.

Highlighting this year’s player field is four-time Grand Slam Champion Maria Sharapova, world No. 4 Agnieszka Radwanska, world No. 14 and 2011 US Open Champion Samantha Stosur, 2009 Bank of the West Champion and current world No. 15 Marion Bartoli and current world No. 18 Dominika Cibulkova.

Also entered in this year’s event is 2010 French Open Champion Francesca Schiavone. Also competing in this year’s event are up-and-coming Americans Madison Keys and Jamie Hampton, as well as Ayumi Morita, from Japan.

The Bank of the West Classic, a Premier WTA event, features a 28-player singles draw as well as a 16-team doubles draw. The event is owned and operated by IMG and serves as the opening women’s event of the Emirates Airline US Open Series.

2012 Bank of the West Classic Acceptance List (as of June 11, 2013)

Name, Country, Rank
Sharapova, Maria, RUS, 3
Radwanska, Agnieszka, POL, 4
Stosur, Samantha, AUS, 14
Bartoli, Marion, FRA, 15
Cibulkova, Dominika, SVK, 18
Flipkens, Kristen, BEL, 20
Cirstea, Sorana, ROU, 24
Lisicki, Sabine, GER, 26
Lepchenko, Varvara, USA, 28
Paszek, Tamira, AUT, 29
Goerges, Julia, GER, 36
Radwanska, Urszaula, POL, 38
Hampton, Jamie, USA, 42
Wickmayer, Yanina, BEL, 43
Schiavone, Francesca, ITA, 45
Rybarikova, Magdalena, SVK, 47
Niculescu, Monica, ROU, 48
Morita, Ayumi, JAP, 49
Voegele, Stefani, SUI, 51
Madison, Keys, USA, 53