Maria Sharapova Withdraws from WTA Year-End Championships, Petra Kvitova, Sara Errani and Jelena Jankovic Qualify


(October 7, 2013) – The Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) announced that Czech Republic’s Petra Kvitova, Italy’s Sara Errani and Serbia’s Jelena Jankovic have qualified for this year’s TEB BNP Paribas WTA Championships, to be held at the Sinan Erdem Dome in Istanbul, Turkey, from October 22-27, 2013. Kvitova, Errani and Jankovic join a singles line-up that already includes Serena Williams, Victoria Azarenka, Agnieszka Radwanska and Li Na.


World No.3 Maria Sharapova announced her withdrawal from the Championships due to a continuing right shoulder injury..


“I am very disappointed that I will not be able to play in the TEB BNP Paribas WTA Championships this year. The fans in Istanbul have welcomed us each year with such intense passion and warmth, I will sincerely miss the energy and excitement they brought to the year-end tournament. I want to thank Istanbul for being a tremendous host and hope to play in Turkey sometime in the future,” said Sharapova.


The TEB BNP Paribas WTA Championships showcases the world’s Top 8 singles players and Top 4 doubles teams to compete for $6 million in prize money. Istanbul is hosting the season-ending event for a third and final year.