June 27, 2017

Serena Williams Wins Fifth WTA Player of the Year Award

Serena Williams Beijing

(November 22, 2013) Serena Williams has been named WTA Player of the Year for a fifth time. Williams put together one of the most dominant years of her career, perhaps in tennis history – 11 titles won with two of them majors compiling a 78-4 record winning $12,385,572 in prize money, beating the previous record of $7,923,920 held by current no. 2 Victoria Azarenka.

She moved back into the top position on the WTA tour in February becoming the oldest No. in WTA ranking history.

“Well, obviously the French Open was probably the thing that stands out most,” she told the WTA website. “I really wanted to win that for a number of years now, so that was definitely something exciting. And also being undefeated on clay was pretty exciting too. So my results on clay this year definitely stand out.

“Overall I’ll remember the wins, but I also want to learn from my mistakes so I don’t repeat them.”

Her fifth player of the year award puts the 32-year-old in elite company. Only two other players have won the honor five or more times – Steffi Graf with 8 and Navratilova with 7. 


Related articles:

WTA Names Alisa Kleybanova as Comeback Player Of The Year and Simona Halep as Most Improved Player Of The Year

Eugenie Bouchard Named WTA Newcomer of the Year

Roger Federer and Serena Williams Headline 2014 Brisbane Line-up