December 2, 2015

125th Annual Pacific Coast Men’s Doubles Championship Begins on February 27


(February 20, 2014) La Jolla, Calif.The 125th Annual Pacific Coast Men’s Doubles Championship, featuring many of the best NCAA Men’s college tennis teams in the country and a strong field of independent players, will begin at 2 p.m. (PST) on Thursday, Feb. 27 at the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club. The tournament concludes on Sunday, March 2.

In addition to the 17 intercollegiate teams (please see full list below) participating in this year’s Pacific Coast Men’s Doubles Championship there will be teaching professionals, junior players, college coaches and former tour players among the independent players competing in the draw in which more than100 doubles teams have entered.

The starting time for each day will be as follows: Thursday, Feb. 27 – 2 p.m.; Friday, Feb. 28 – 8 a.m.
Saturday, March 1 – 9 a.m.; Sunday, March 2 – Semifinals at 9 a.m.; Championship Final will begin at approximately 1:30 p.m. (all times are PST).

Collegiate teams entered in the 2014 Pacific Coast Men’s Doubles Championship:

Boston College
Claremont McKenna-Mudd-Scripps College (CMS)
Oklahoma State University
Pepperdine University
Rice University
St. John’s University
San Diego State University (SDSU)
Stanford University
University of California, Davis (UC Davis)
University of California, Berkeley (CAL)
University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)
University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV)
University of San Diego (USD)
University of Southern California (USC)
Villanova University
William & Mary

“As we celebrate the 125th anniversary of this historic tennis event, we anticipate another outstanding tournament this year,” said Tournament Director Bill Kellogg. “Tennis fans often say they don’t have many opportunities to watch high-caliber doubles matches. I invite them to come to the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club next week. They certainly won’t be disappointed.”

The field at the 2014 Pacific Coast Doubles Championship is wide open according to Kellogg. There will be a new champion this year. Dennis Novikov, who won last year’s title with Marcos Giron, is competing on the men’s professional tennis tour and is currently ranked No. 610 in the world. Giron is playing in his junior year at UCLA, but is not entered in this year’s tournament.

The complete tournament draw will be available on Tuesday, Feb. 25.