Thursday’s Summary and Results for the 125th Annual Pacific Coast Men’s Doubles Championship


La Jolla, Calif. – (February 27, 2014) The courts at the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club will be busy on Friday as the 125th Annual Pacific Coast Men’s Doubles Championship, which features many of the best NCAA men’s college tennis teams in the country and a strong field of independent players, will play a total of 123 matches over the first three rounds.

Friday’s matches are scheduled to begin at 8 a.m. (PST). The majority of the seeded teams received first-round byes and will play later in the day. One first-round match of interest for local tennis fans will pit
Milen Ianakiev and Jonas Meinzer of San Diego State University against Andrew Raphaelson and Ciaran Fitzgerald of cross-town rival University of San Diego at 10:30 a.m. (PST).

Among Thursday evening’s results in an abbreviated schedule, ninth-seeded Jacob Brumm of Rancho Santa Fe, Calif., and San Diego’s John Chanfreau advanced to the second round with a 6-4, 6-3 victory over Trent Aaron of San Pedro, Calif. and Alan Chang, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.

In other tournament news, Max De Vroome of Vught, Netherlands replaced Peter Smith of Long Beach, Calif. in the tournament draw. De Vroome will team with Kaes Van’t Hof of Newport Beach, Calif.  As the top-seeded independent team, they received a first-round bye and will play their opening round match on Friday at 2 p.m. (PST).

In addition to schedule and weather updates throughout each day of the tournament, the complete draw, scores and results can be found at: http://tennislink.usta.com/Tournaments/TournamentHome/Tournament.aspx?T=138252

The starting time for the remaining days of the tournament are as follows: Friday, Feb. 28 – 8 a.m.;  Saturday, March 1 – 9 a.m.; Sunday, March 2 – Semifinals at 9 a.m.; Championship Final will begin at approximately 1:30 p.m. (all times are PST).

Collegiate teams entered in the 2014 Pacific Coast Men’s Doubles Championship:

Boston College
Claremont McKenna-Mudd-Scripps College (CMS)
Oklahoma State University
Pepperdine University
Rice University
St. John’s University
San Diego State University (SDSU)
Stanford University
University of California, Davis (UC Davis)
University of California, Berkeley (CAL)
University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)
University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV)
University of San Diego (USD)
University of Southern California (USC)
Villanova University
William & Mary