July 29, 2015

BNP Paribas Open – Pre-Qualifier Begins

big bnp paribas open logo

INDIAN WELLS, Calif., Feb. 25, 2013 – The 2013 BNP Paribas Open Pre-Qualifying tournament begins today, Monday, February 27, and will run through Saturday, March 3. From fast-rising young stars to talented local players, the pre-qualifying draw features more than 150 competitors (83 men and 71 women) playing to earn a wildcard into the BNP Paribas Open qualifying tournament, to be held March 4-6 at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.
Samantha Crawford and Sachia Vickery highlight the young American talent in the women’s draw. Crawford, an 18-year-old from Tamarac, FL, is the reigning US Open Junior Girls’ Champion and qualified for the 2012 US Open Women’s Main Draw. Vickery, a 17-year-old from Miramar, FL, reached her career-high ranking in the top 330 earlier this year – up nearly 100 spots from her year-end ranking in 2011.
Alla Kudryavtseva of Russia turned pro in 2005 and reached a career-high ranking of No. 56 in 2010 after reaching her first WTA final in Guangzhou and winning her first and only WTA title in Tashkent. She has finished in the WTA top 100 four times in the last six years. Kudryavtseva also owns four WTA doubles titles with three different partners.
Other notable women in the draw include 2012 US Open National Playoff Runner-Up Mayo Hibi, rising Canadian star Gabriela Dabrowski and former top 150 player Sally Peers.
On the men’s side, defending BNP Paribas Open Pre-Qualifying Tournament finalist Haythem Abid leads the field. In 2012, Abid, a former UCLA standout fell just short in his bid for a wildcard into the BNP Paribas Open qualifying tournament, losing a tight contest to current UCLA player Dennis Novikov.
Other noteworthy players on the men’s side include world No. 233 Erik Chvojka, seven-time Grand Slam competitor Rik de Voest and ATP World Tour veteran Chris Wettengel.
In 2012, Novikov and Madison Keys won the pre-qualifying tournament. And have since reached career-high rankings. Novikov is now a UCLA standout and Keys cracked the WTA top 80 and already has five wins over top 50 players in 2013.
Matches will begin at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, February 25 and 10:00 a.m. Tuesday, February 26 – Friday, March 1. The women’s final will be on Saturday, March 2 at Noon followed by the men’s final. All matches will be played at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, are open to the public and free of charge.
For more information and to view the men’s and women’s pre-qualifying draws, visit www.bnpparibasopen.com.