July 30, 2015

Paire, Stosur, Thiem, Tsurenko and Tomic Win Tennis Titles This Week

Samantha Stosur

Samantha Stosur

(July 26, 2015) Benoit Paire, Samantha StosurDominik Thiem, Lesia Tsurenko and Bernard Tomic were the singles winners on the tennis tour this weekend.

France’s Paire joined the winner’s circle for the first time, claiming the ATP World Tour title at the SkiStar Swedish Open in Bastad when he turned back Spain’s Tommy Robredo 7-6(7), 6-3. Paire is the sixth first-time winner on the men’s tour this year.

“It’s a perfect week,” Paire said. “The conditions today were not easy, but I’m really happy to win against Tommy. He’s a very good player. To play against him in the final and to beat him is a dream, so I’m very happy.

“It was a lot of pressure…  I hope it’s not the last one for me.”

Samantha Stosur rallied to win her second WTA title of the year and eighth overall after defeating Karin Knapp of Italy 3-6, 7-6 (3), 6-2 in the final of the Gastein Ladies on Sunday. The Australian and former US Open champion also won the Strasbourg event back in May.

In a final which featured two unseeded players, Lesia Tsurenko won her first WTA title, besting Urszula Radwanska 7-5, 6-1 to win the Istanbul Cup.

“I’m so happy I could win here and show good tennis,” said the Ukrainian.

“That’s my goal, getting good results and showing good tennis.”

Austria’s Dominik Thiem won his second career ATP World Tour title, besting Joao Sousa of Portugal 6-4, 6-1 to win the Croatia Open

“Today was very special day,” Thiem said. “We were watched by world’s number one Novak Djokovic,” Thiem said. “Usually he is the one who entertains us with great tennis and today we turned it around.”

“It is really special to win here after playing juniors matches in this stadium,” said Thiem who became the first Austrian to win this title since Thomas Muster did it twenty years ago. “I will have a nice dinner with my friends tonight to celebrate. It won’t be a big party for me as I have to drive eight hours to go to Gstaad tomorrow.”

Second seed Bernard Tomic defended his Claro Open Colombia title in Bogota, beating Frenchman Adrian Mannarino 6-1, 3-6, 6-2.

“It’s been a very good year,” Tomic said. “I started at No. 70 and am now close to No. 20. It’s been a good seven months. I’ll try to play well the next three months and have the chance to be in the Top 15.

“Every title you remember. I’m very happy to have won my third title and to defend it here was amazing. I’m really happy with myself… This is my most consistent year.”

The 22-year-old Australian, ranked 29th,  is now 9-0 at the tournament.



Berlocq Upsets Verdasco in Sweden for First ATP Title


(July 14, 2013) Carlos Berlocq won his first ATP World Tour title at the SkiStar Swedish Open to become the ninth over 30 winner this year by stunning Fernando Verdasco 7-5, 6-1.


“I’m really excited with my achievement this week,” said the Argentine. “I’ve been working hard to fulfill this dream and today I made it. You have to be patient to get a title. I think the key was the mind-set I had from the first to the last match. Mental toughness was the key. I went through hard times, but I kept working hard and finally I did it. You have to never give up. It was my dream week.”


Berlocq pocketed €78,300 in prize money and earned 250 ATP ranking points. He also finished as a finalist in the doubles.


Shanghai, Dubai & Bastad Repeat As Winners of ATP World Tour Tournaments of The Year Awards


From the ATP World Tour: DUBAI — The ATP announced the winners of the 2012 ATP World Tour Tournament Awards on Monday, with the Shanghai Rolex Masters, the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships and the SkiStar Swedish Open all maintaining their status as the most favored tournaments on the ATP World Tour in their respective categories.

Shanghai, Dubai and Båstad continue to set the standard at ATP World Tour Masters 1000, 500 and 250- level respectively. The ATP World Tour Tournament Awards, voted annually by ATP players, recognize the leading standards set across the three tournament categories on the Tour.

Brad Drewett, ATP Executive Chairman and President, said: “These awards represent a true endorsement from the world’s best players who clearly value the effort these tournaments make in setting the highest standards on the ATP World Tour year after year. They are each fantastic events in their own right, and very deserving of their awards.”

Ever since its first edition as an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 four years ago, the Shanghai Rolex Masters has earned the award in the top category. The 2012 tournament came to a dramatic conclusion with Novak Djokovic saving five match points against Andy Murray in the final.

“We are thrilled to be honored by the ATP players for the fourth year in row as Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year. It is one of our principal values to be the most “player friendly” Masters event in the world, and this award for the fourth year running proves we are living up to this standard,” said Jiang Lan, CEO, Shanghai Juss Event Management Co., Ltd. “We would like to thank the ATP players and also share this honour with our close friend Brad Drewett, whose support and vision for the Shanghai Rolex Masters has made these achievements possible.”

Murray, a two-time winner of the Shanghai event, said: “They put on a really good tournament. They look after the players really, really well. They make a big effort, the venue is fantastic, they have a lot of practice courts, a good gym and the centre court is a really nice court as well, so I’ve just always felt pretty comfortable there [in Shanghai].”

The Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships, whose 2013 event got underway today, captured the ATP World Tour 500 award for the ninth time in 10 years.

“It is such a great endorsement of our tournament to receive the ATP World Tour 500 award for the ninth time in the past decade and we thank the ATP and the players for this recognition once more,” said Colm McLoughlin, Executive Vice Chairman, Dubai Duty Free. “As the owners and organisers of the tournament, we try to ensure that the players, officials, media and spectators, enjoy a fantastic event and this award is a reflection of all the hard work done by Salah Tahlak, our Tournament Director, and the whole team.”

Roger Federer, a five-time winner of the Dubai event, said: “We, the players, and the top players in particular, love coming to Dubai. They always have a great field and this combination makes this a very attractive tournament for all of us.”

Most remarkable is the SkiStar Swedish Open in Båstad, which continued its dominance at the ATP World Tour 250-level, winning the award for an 11th consecutive year.

“To receive this prestigious award for 11 consecutive years is tremendous. Our objective is to continue to improve our tournament and once again this is a great encouragement for the years to come,” said Thomas Wallén, SkiStar Swedish Open Tournament Director. “Hopefully the quality of our event brings out the best of tennis.”

World No.4 David Ferrer, said: “Since playing in Båstad for the first time in 2003, it has been one of my favourite tournaments. Over the years, I’ve had some great results in Båstad, but more than that, the service around the tournament is fantastic and I look forward to competing there again.”